Skip to content
September 20, 2011 / Rohit

Amazon will spam you if you are a student

I hate getting automated mail and I actively un-subscribe from mails which are offers, newsletters, social network notifications, etc. So when Amazon Student started sending me more emails than I liked, I wanted to opt-out. Turns out, because I am an Amazon Student Member (which make me an Amazon Prime customer) I can’t unsubscribe without deleting my account.

At the bottom of the email, there is text which goes:

You received this e-mail because you are a member of Amazon Student. If you would like to stop receiving e-mail offers from Amazon Student, you may cancel your Amazon Student membership here: Manage Your Student Membership.

 

It’s weird and disappointing. It’s as if Amazon Student is threatening you into reading their mail. Of course, I am not going to cancel my Amazon student membership, because I love getting things much early. But it would be much better if they had a way to opt-out, rather than me writing a thunderbird filter to trash everything which comes from Amazon student.

2 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. Casey / Apr 11 2014 12:01 am

    Even worse, if you cancel your Amazon student membership you’ll still get those useless promotions. I hope the responsible person loses its job at Amazon…

  2. johndhynes / May 16 2014 11:34 am

    I just got one of these, and it makes me furious! This is completely unethical. You should always be able to opt-out of promotional email, without any restrictions. I have never seen such behavior in recent times from a legitimate company. I believe this is actually illegal under the CAN-SPAM Act. ” You can’t charge a fee, require the recipient to give you any personally identifying information beyond an email address, or make the recipient take any step other than sending a reply email or visiting a single page on an Internet website as a condition for honoring an opt-out request.”

Leave a Reply

